Chittagong District- The commercial capital of Bangladesh

4 (80%) 1 vote


Chittagong District is a district located in the south-eastern region of Bangladesh under the administration of Chittagong district. Total population of the country is 7913000 in the area of 5283 sq km. The port city of Chittagong, second largest city in Bangladesh, is located in this district. The geo location is in between 21°54′ and 22°59′ north latitudes and in between 91°17′ and 92°13′ east longitudes. It is surrounded by khagrachhari and rangamati districts on the north, cox’s bazar on the south, bandarban, Rangamati and Khagrachhari on the east and the bay of bengal on the west. Chittagong District is quite different from other districts as it is a goddess beauty of nature characterized by hills, rivers, sea, forests and valleys.


Chittagong had been an important location for trade, drawing Arab traders earlier in the 9th century CE. The region was later gone under the reign of kings from Arakan in the 16th and 17th centuries.The Mughal Army under Shaista Khan conquered Chittagong and during that time the region also faced a lot of attacks by the pirates. In 1966 Chittagong was established as a district by the Mughal emperor and the hill tracts of Chittagong was separated in 1860. Cox bazar district was separated after the war of liberation. Traders from the world including Arabs used to come here for business in the 9th century. In the mid fourteenth century Chittagong was conquered by Sultan Fakruddin Mubarak Shah of Sonargaon. After defeating sultan Giasuddin Mahmud shah in 1538 the Arakanese captured Chittagong again the area was under the Arakanese kingdom during the sixth and seventh centuries. Before conquering by the Muslims the region faced many attacks by the Portuguese pirates. Mughal commander Bujurg Umed Khan drove out the pirates from the region and established district named Islamabad. During the British rule Revolutionary Swadesh Roy was shot dead by the British soldiers in the Kalar Pole encounter. Some revolutionaries Debu Prashad, Rajat Sen and Manaranjan Sen committed suicide to resist arrest. A number of revolutionaries including Masterda Surya Sen, Kalpana Datta hide out in the house and later Surya Sen and Brajendra Sen were later arrested by the British soldiers.On behalf of Bangabandhu sheikh mujibur rahman on 27 March in 1971 Shahid ziaur rahman declared the independence of Bangladesh from the swadhin bangla betar kendra located at Kalurghat.

Main sources of income of the district are Agriculture 33.53%, non-agricultural labourer 4.30%, commerce 16.22%, service 17.61%, transport & communication 3.43%.

Popular visiting places are including World Peace Pagoda, Marine Academy, Eco-park and Botanical Garden, Foy’s Lake (Pahartali), Chhuti Khan Mosque,Mazar of Hazrat Shah Amanat (R), Mazar of Baro Awliya (Sitakunda), Patenga Sea Beach, , Chandranath Hill, Dharmo Chakro Buddho Vihara, Koriya Nagar and Sonakania Buddha Viharas. There are 13148 mosques, 1025 Hindu temples, 535 Buddhist temples and 192 churches.


Noted personalities are included Masterda Surjasen, Priti Lota Owadder, Abdul Karim Sahittobisharod, Principal Abul Quashem (Educationist),Amibca Chattargy, Gonesh Ghosh, Abdul Hoque Dovas,Roby Chowdhury, Partha Barua Dr Keshob Sen, Dr Harihar Datta, Jotirmoye Chowdhury and etc.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>