Rate this post


Kishoreganj is a district of central Bangladesh under the administration of Dhaka Division. It was a subdivision of mymensing district. In the medieval age the area was included in the Kingdom of Kamrupa. Greater part of Kishoreganj was included in Mughal regionduring the period of Mughal emperor Akbar including Jangalbari, Egarosindhu etc. it has a population of 3029 thousandsin the area of 2689 square kilometers. It is constituted with 13 upazilas Kuliarchar Upazila, Hossainpur Upazila, Pakundia Upazila, Kishoreganj Sadar Upazila, Bajitpur Upazila, Austagram Upazila, Karimganj Upazila, Katiadi Upazila, Tarail Upazila, Itna Upazila, Nikli Upazila, Mithamain Upazila, Bhairab Upazila. Among them there are 8 municipalities.


Kishoreganj has an ancient historical and traditional heritage. Ahom king was defeated in 1538 and lost Egarosindhu. The region was later included in Mughal region and 1580 AD under the rule of Isha Kha, the commander of Mughal emperor. After the death of Isha Kha in 1599, his son Musa Kha still ruled the area on behalf of Mughal emperor. Kishoreganj was familiarly known as ‘Katkhali’ till the end of 18Th century. According to the historians Kishoreganj was named after landlord Brojokishor alies Nondokishor when a bazaar named Kishorganj established by him. Jangalbari Fort situated in Jangalbari village which was a strong outpost of the Bengal Ruler Isa Khan. Isa Khan’s descendants still live in this village and currently the fourteenth descendant is living. Egarosindur is a village of Kishoreganj district which is believed to be very ancient inhabited since 1000 BC. Analytics says in 8th century Egarosindur was the river port where Muslim traders exported and imported with rome and paris. In the last part of 10th century King Srishochandra controlled this land and then this area might be governed by Shen king. In 1577 the region was declared sovereign by isha kha. During the reign of Shahjahan the king of Assam attacked Egarosindur in 1638. He was not capable of fighting Shahjahan, when he fled from the battle field he destroyed the land ruthlessly. Many pious and religious leader came the district to preach Islam and some of them Some of them are named-Fakir Garibullah Shah (RH), Syed Ahmed Rumi (RH), Nigrin shah(RH). As an ancient place there are many fairy tales which are very popular among the dwellers. During the liberation war, on July 1971 the Pak army brutally killed about 50 persons at the cremation center of Nikli upazila. On 14 August on an encounter the freedom fighters and the Pak army in Kuliarchar 4 Pak soldiers were killed and 28 razakars surrendered with arms and ammunitions to the freedom fighters. On 3 September, the Pak army in collaboration with the local razakars, brutally killed about 35 persons at a village. The brutally killed 25 persons at village Savianagar. They killed many people during the war in kishoreganj. The freedom fighters destroyed a bridge near the Hossainpur Police Station by dynamite explosion and raided the razakar camp and captured 14 razakars with their arms and ammunitions.The Pak army also destroyed the Bhairab Bridge on 13 December. During the War of Liberation heavy fighting were held between the freedom fighters and the Pak army at different places.


There are many place of historical interest in kishorganj. They are Jangalbari Fort of isha kha, Egarosindur village on the bank of Bhrahmaputra, Shah Mahmud Mosque, sadi mosque etc. at sholakia in kishoreganj country’s largest Eid congregation is held. Many prominent personality were born in the district such as Upendra Kishore Roy Chowdhury (1863-1915) – Authors, painters, aynul Abedin (29 December, 1914 – 28 May, 1976) – A reputed illustrator of Bangladesh, Saiyad Nazrul Islam, (1925- November 3, 1975) – Bangladesh’s temporary president and prime minister formed a temporary government in 1971 and many others.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>